Editing

The first draft of my new novel is now in the editing stages. Thanks for your guidance and support, Christie Stratos. It’s also been helpful watching teen movies about trauma and recovery, to help shape my lead character Teisha Cole. Finding my female character’s unique voice and place in the world during this crucial process, is not only necessary, but imperative. I savour that feeling of gently peeling back the many layers of Teisha’s character, hour by hour, to discover her true essence and quintessence. This is proving to be the most enjoyable and even spiritual part of editing, for me. Understanding my character’s mind and soul is the key to me creating a believable protagonist and a strong and convincing story.

What are your favourite parts about the editing process fellow authors?

 

Leave a Reply

